
NEW STATE LAW

HANDS-FREE LAW STARTS
SEPTEMBER 1, 2025

South Carolina Hands-Free and Distracted Driving Act

SCDPS.SC.GOV/HandsFree

VISUAL
takes your eyes

off the road

MANUAL
takes your hands

off the wheel

COGNITIVE
takes your mind

off driving

3 TYPES OF DISTRACTIONS

Your phone involves all three

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 
there were nearly 325,000 people injured in distraction-related 
crashes in 2023. Help improve road safety by doing your part  

and encouraging others to put down the phone.



South Carolina Hands-Free and Distracted Driving Act
SC CODE § 56-5-3890

SCAN TO LEARN MORE
(when you’re not driving)

SCDPS.SC.GOV/HandsFree

Putting the phone 
down saves lives 

Because collisions can be prevented when we 
choose to stay focused behind the wheel.

WARNINGS BEGIN: SEPTEMBER 1, 2025
CITATIONS BEGIN: FEBRUARY 28, 2026

The Hands Free SC campaign educates the public  
about the state’s new hands-free law.

What is the new hands-free law?
The hands-free driving law aims to reduce the number of distracted 
driving collisions on South Carolina roads. The South Carolina Hands-
Free and Distracted Driving Act is in effect as of September 1, 2025.

What does the hands-free law prohibit?
This new law prohibits drivers from using mobile electronic devices 
while operating a motor vehicle. A “mobile electronic device” refers to 
a cellular phone, portable computer, GPS receiver, electronic game, 
and similar items. 

According to the law, drivers are not allowed to:
•	 Hold or support a mobile electronic device with any part of their body. 

This does not prohibit the use of an earpiece or device worn on the 
wrist used for voice-based communication.

•	 Use a mobile electronic device to read, compose, or transmit texts, 
emails, app interactions, or website information.

•	 Watch motion, including a video, movie, game or video call.

What are the exceptions to the hands-free law?
Exceptions to the hands-free law include using a device in hands-
free mode; using a device while legally stopped; or reporting a wreck, 
emergency, or safety hazard to a public safety official.

What are the penalties for the hands-free law?
•	 First offense: $100

•	 Second and subsequent offenses (within three years):  
$200 and two points on the driver’s license.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Holders:
•	 Those who hold a CDL and operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) 

should note that these violations count as serious offenses under  
49 CFR 383.51 Disqualification of Drivers. 

•	 Under 49 CFR 383.51 and SC Code of Laws Section 56-1-2110, if a CDL 
holder is convicted of two disqualifying violations within a three-year 
period while operating a CMV, the CDL may be disqualified for 60 
days by the SC Department of Motor Vehicles.


