SOUTH CAROLINA HANDS-FREE AND DISTRACTED DRIVING ACT

WARNINGS BEGIN: SEPTEMBER 1, 2025 | CITATIONS BEGIN: FEBRUARY 28, 2026

What is the new hands-free law?

The hands-free driving law aims to reduce the number of distracted driving
collisions on South Carolina roads. The South Carolina Hands-Free and
Distracted Driving Act is in effect as of September 1, 2025.

What does the hands-free law prohibit?

This new law prohibits drivers from using mobile electronic devices while
operating a motor vehicle. A “mobile electronic device” refers to a cellular
phone, portable computer, GPS receiver, electronic game, and similar items.

According to the law, drivers are not allowed to:

e Hold or support a mobile electronic device with any part of their body. 3 TYPES 0|: DISTRAC"ONS

This does not prohibit the use of an earpiece or device worn on the wrist

used for voice-based communication.

e Use a mobile electronic device to read, compose, or transmit texts, 0 VISUAL

emails, app interactions, or website information. takes your eyes off the road
e Watch motion, including a video, movie, game or video call.

What are the exceptions to the hands-free law? MANUAL
Exceptions to the hands-free law include using a device in hands-free mode; takes your hands off the wheel

using a device while legally stopped; or reporting a wreck, emergency, or
COGNITIVE

takes your mind off of driving

safety hazard to a public safety official.

What are the penalties for the hands-free law?

¢ First offense: $100
¢ Second and subsequent offenses (within three years): Your phone involves all three

$200 and two points on the driver’s license.

Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Holders:
e Those who hold a CDL and operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV)

Putting the phone

should note that these violations count as serious offenses under

49 CFR 383.51 Disqualification of Drivers. down saves lives

e Under 49 CFR 383.51 and SC Code of Laws Section 56-1-2110, if a CDL Because collisions can be
holder is convicted of two disqualifying violations within a three-year prevented when we choose to
period while operating a CMV, the CDL may be disqualified for 60 days stay focused behind the wheel.

by the SC Department of Motor Vehicles.

south carolina The Hands Free SC campaign educates the public about the state’s new hands-free law. !ElﬁEl
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