Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

SCDPS Names State Transport Police Officer of The Year

Fri, 08/20/2021

Master Officer James S. Craig, Master Officer Damond L. Tillman, STP Officer of the Year (Overall), Master Officer Nikeith C. Wallace, Sgt. John Phillips, accepting for Master Officer Jarod B. Johnson, Corporal Jeffrey W. Haigler, Jr., and Lance Corporal Philip K. Clarke.


COLUMBIA —The South Carolina Department of Public Safety announced its 2020 State Transport Police (STP) Officer of the Year on Friday, August 20, 2021. A division of DPS, the State Transport Police is primarily responsible for enforcing state and federal laws governing commercial motor vehicle traffic.

“Our State Transport Police officers work diligently to ensure commercial trucks are properly inspected and road-worthy as they transport vital goods and services across our state,” said SCDPS Director Robert G. Woods, IV. “It is a privilege to stop and recognize the service of those outstanding officers who make our roads safer for both commercial motor vehicle traffic and passenger vehicles.”

Col. Dean Dill is commander of the State Transport Police. Col. Dill recognized officers of the year as well as introducing 19 new officers that will serve throughout South Carolina.

“Every day our officers hit the ground running ready to serve our communities,” Dill said. “One of the highlights each year is taking an opportunity to say thank you to those who consistently go above and beyond in their mission of keeping our South Carolina roadways safe. I’m proud to lead and work alongside each of them.”

Congratulations to the overall winner and 2020 STP Officer of the Year, Master Officer Nikeith C. Wallace!

Master Officer Nikeith C. Wallace

Col. Dean Dill, STP Overall Officer of the Year: M/Off. N.C. Wallace, and Major Dwayne Wilson.

Six officers, representing each of the six regions in the state, were recognized for exemplary work during 2020. The region-wide winners included:

Region 1 (Columbia area):   Master Officer James S. Craig

Region 2 (Greenwood area): Master Officer Damond L. Tillman

Region 3 (Greenville area): Master Officer Nikeith C.Wallace

Region 4 (Rock Hill area): Master Officer Jarod B. Johnson

Region 5 (Florence area): Corporal Jeffrey W. Haigler, Jr.

Region 6 (Charleston area): Lance Corporal Philip K. Clarke 


The South Carolina Department of Public Safety includes the Highway Patrol, State Transport Police, Bureau of Protective Services, Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs, and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame. Our mission is to ensure public safety by protecting and serving the people of South Carolina and its visitors.