SC Highway Patrol names 2023 Trooper of the Year, Telecommunications Operator of the Year | SCDPS Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

SC Highway Patrol names 2023 Trooper of the Year, Telecommunications Operator of the Year

Fri, 03/15/2024

Media: All photos and narratives can be found on the SCHP 2023 Trooper of the Year webpage. Ceremony photos are available on the SCDPS online photo album. 

COLUMBIA — The South Carolina Department of Public Safety announced its 2023 Trooper of the Year and Telecommunications Operator of the Year (TCO) at a ceremony today. The winners were selected from regional winners across South Carolina. SCDPS named Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier the statewide Trooper of the Year. A late-night traffic stop for speeding took a horrifying turn. During Frazier’s second approach to the vehicle, the driver opened fire, shooting Frazier in the face before speeding off. Despite his injuries, L/Cpl. Frazier relayed a detailed description of the fleeing vehicle. A fellow trooper heard the distress call and description and was able to apprehend the suspect after a short pursuit.

Kimeko White was named the statewide Telecommunications Operator of the Year. When Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier was shot during a traffic stop in Bamberg County, Kimeko relied on her training and 18 years of experience, documenting essential details from the injured trooper and relayed critical information until the suspect’s eventual arrest. She exhibited remarkable composure, unwavering calmness and professionalism throughout the entire ordeal.

“This annual ceremony is, without a doubt, one of my favorite events of the year,” SCDPS Director Robert G. Woods, IV said. “It is an incredible opportunity to celebrate our top troopers and telecommunications professionals and give them the recognition they deserve. Many of us can only imagine the sacrifices that these heroes endure when they show up day in and day out to make our state a safer place. We can never express our appreciation enough for their life-saving work.”

Col. Christopher Williamson, Commander of the S.C. Highway Patrol, said:  

“It truly is a pleasure to serve shoulder to shoulder with such exemplary men and women—not only those recognized today, but every member of the Highway Patrol who gives their all in order to protect our local communities. Public service comes with honor, but also its fair share of danger, uncertainty, and challenging situations. The collective courage and devotion of these individuals have set the pace for future generations, and I could not be more proud of them.”

2023 Statewide Trooper of the Year: Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier


Troop winners: SCHP 2023 Trooper of the Year | SCDPS (read the winner narratives)

Troop 1, Post A (Clarendon, Sumter): Trooper First Class C.B. Cherry

Troop 2, Post A (Laurens, Newberry): Lance Corporal R.W. Spires

Troop 3, Post C (Greenville): Lance Corporal J.C. Owens

Troop 4, Post D (Chesterfield, Lancaster): Trooper First Class M.C. Ferrari

Troop 5, Post A (Darlington, Marlboro): Lance Corporal J.R. Timmons

Troop 6, Post C (Beaufort, Jasper): Senior Trooper D.R. Coon

Troop 7, Post A (Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Hampton): Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier

Troop 8 (Area Coordinated Enforcement Unit, Mid-State): Master Trooper G.S. Shropshire

Troop 9, Post D (Pee Dee Multi-Disciplinary Accident Investigation Team): Lance Corporal T.A. Skoczylas

Troop 10 (Insurance Enforcement Unit): Master Trooper J.L. Baldwin

Front row, left to right: Trooper First Class M.C. Ferrari, Lance Corporal J.R. Timmons, Lance Corporal T.A. Skoczylas, Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier, and Trooper First Class C.B. Cherry.
Back row, left to right: Master Trooper G.S. Shropshire, Senior Trooper D.R. Coon, Lance Corporal J.C. Owens, Lance Corporal R.W. Spires, and Master Trooper J.L. Baldwin.

2023 Statewide Telecommunications Operator of the Year Winner: Kimeko White


Regional Telecommunications Center Winners: SCHP 2023 TCO of the Year webpage (read winner narratives)

Blythewood Telecommunications Center: Telecommunications Operator I, Destany Hodgkins

Charleston Telecommunications Center: Telecommunications Operator IV, Kimeko White

Florence Telecommunications Center: Telecommunications Operator IV, Dawn Peacock

Greenville Telecommunications Center: Telecommunications Operator II, Rosemarie Holland

From left to right: Destany Hodgkins, Dawn Peacock, Kimeko White, and Rosemarie Holland.

Director’s Medal of Valor Awards: The highest award bestowed by SCDPS. This award recognizes those who have distinguished themselves by their acts of bravery and courage while taking great personal risks above and beyond the call of duty. This medal may be awarded for acts that occur while the employee is on duty or off duty.

Lance Corporal J.C. Owens (Troop 3, Post C)

Trooper First Class B.J. Fowler (Troop 4, Post B)

Corporal B.J. Tarter (Troop 7, Post A)

First Sergeant D. Johnson (Troop 10, Insurance Enforcement Unit)

Director’s Purple Heart Award: An award that is presented to sworn employees who have been injured or wounded in the line of duty in 2023.

Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier (Troop 7, Post A)

Lance Corporal M.D. Gressette (Troop 7, Post B)

Lance Corporal Z.G. Rickard (Troop 8, ACE Mid-State Motor Unit)

Special Recognition Award: An award presented to the deputy who provided backup during the shooting and injury of SCHP Lance Corporal B.A. Frazier.

Deputy D. Duckson (employed with Bamberg County Sheriff’s Office at the time of the incident)

The South Carolina Department of Public Safety includes the Highway Patrol, State Transport Police, Bureau of Protective Services, Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs, and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame. Our mission is to ensure public safety by protecting and serving the people of South Carolina and its visitors.