“Carolina Squat” Law | SCDPS Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

“Carolina Squat” Law

Effective November 12, 2023, it will be illegal to operate a "squatted" vehicle on South Carolina roads (SC Code Section 56-5-4445).  

"Squatted" vehicles include those with a front or rear fender raised four or more inches higher than the other.

SC law enforcement will only issue warning citations for the first six months after the effective date.

On May 10, 2024, drivers will begin to receive tickets for violations. The new law outlines the following penalties for violations:
      1. 1st Offense - $100 fine
      2. 2nd Offense - $200 fine
      3. 3rd Offense - $300 fine and a license suspension by the Department of Motor Vehicles for twelve months from the date of conviction.

To read the legislation (S. C. Code § 56-5-4445) in full, please visit: https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t56c005.php#56-5-4445