S.C. Freedom of Information Act
S.C. Code 30-4-10 through 30-4-165
It is the policy of SCDPS to provide the public access to its public records and documents in an accurate, timely and professional manner. (DPS Policy 199)
*In accordance with the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, S.C. Code 30-2-10 et. seq., the information provided must not be used to contact any person directly for the purpose of commercial solicitation.
How to Make a FOIA Request
Please state that the information you are seeking is requested under the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act. Be as specific as possible about what you are requesting.
All requests for information under the Freedom of Information Act for documents should be submitted through the online portal at: FOIA Request Form (If you experience issues submitting your FOIA request through the form, please email FOIA at the email below).
SC Department of Public Safety
PO Box 1993
Blythewood, SC 29016
PHONE: (803) 896-7759
Motor Vehicle Accident Information Requests
Both sides of the Accident Report Form (TR-310) must be attached to your FOIA request. Accident Report Forms (Form TR-310) can be obtained directly from the SC Department of Motor Vehicles, Office of Financial Responsibility, by completing Form FR-50 (Fee: $6.00).
Requests for Accident Report Forms (TR-310) must be made through the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Subpoena requests are processed through the Office of General Counsel.
Materials Available Concerning a Motor Vehicle Accident
- Accident Report (from SC Department of Motor Vehicles)
- Fatality Packet (if at least one fatality) *Fatality packet does not include photographs or video
- Photographs (if available)
- Videotape (if available)
Note: Photographs and Videos may not have been prepared or available in all cases.
The South Carolina Highway Patrol Multi-Disciplinary Accident Investigation Team (MAIT) does not investigate all accidents. For MAIT cases, please allow a minimum of 8 weeks from the accident date for completion of a MAIT investigation.
MAIT Materials that may be available ($100 per item)
- MAIT Investigation Report
- Diagram of scene (mapping)
- Event Data Recorder (EDR)
- Small Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (sUAV) Items
Requesting Radio Dispatch Tapes and/or Written Dispatch Logs
The following information is required: Please specify if you are requesting the tape, the log or both.
- Date(s) (MM/DD/YY)
- Time Period
Note: Radio tapes are only available up to 180 days from date of recording. (Tapes are available at the cost of $28.00; written logs at $28.00.)
Requesting Training Manuals
Please specify the name of the manual if possible. Otherwise, state specifically the subject matter.
Non-FOIA Requests Available from the SC Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV)
- Accident Reports: SCDMV Form FR-50
- Driver Records and Driver Information: SCDMV Form MV-70
- Vehicle and Title Information: SCDMV Form 5027-A
All above forms should be obtained directly from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.
Exemptions from Disclosure
DPS exempts from disclosure all information enumerated in S.C. Code Section 30-4-40. When providing records, exempt and non-exempt information will be separated, and the non-exempt portion will be provided to the requestor. Please see also Section 30-4-160 and 165 of the South Carolina Code of Laws relating to the privacy of driver’s license information.
Fees Charged for Documents and Information
DPS charges reasonable costs for providing documents or information and may not release information until payment in full is received. Fees are subject to change.
Fees may be waived or reduced if it is determined that the waiver or reduction is in the public interest because the information is considered as primarily benefiting the general public.